CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 11-28-2006, 01:25 PM   #1
Sarena Kopciel

Profile:
I am new to CF but saw a whole lot of posts earlier about Curves. I respect what ppl say about its value totally. I read also why the single gender stuff....Well, actually near where I live there is a guys only "Curves" type place called "Cuts." That's the whole truth.
Old 11-28-2006, 01:41 PM   #2
Mike ODonnell

Profile:
No matter what a place is called, functional full body movements using free weights is optimal for increasing your strength and fat loss. Machines are not the answer in my book. Curves may be a good first step for people...but they will soon need something more as the body will condition to that stimulus and stop making maximum progress in a short amount of time.

oh yeah...Welcome too!

(Message edited by mike_od on November 28, 2006)
Old 11-28-2006, 05:27 PM   #3
Sarena Kopciel

Profile:
Thanks for the input. Never in my life would I think of joining somewhere that you sit on your a** and let the machine do the work!
Old 11-28-2006, 05:34 PM   #4
Brad Davis

Profile:
At this point, I'm thinking that machine-based workouts are worse than useless. Consider what happened to my buddy recently. He did a machine-based bodybuilding workout for about 4 years and looks like he's in good shape. He's very strong at the EXACT movements that he was doing. He started trying the CFWU, but he could only do a couple of dips because he hadn't been doing those. After the 2nd or 3rd day of the CFWU, he pulled a muscle in his chest and has been out for about 3 weeks now. His machine-based workouts have undoubtedly left him with weak links scattered among his strong muscles.