CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 10-09-2007, 12:13 PM   #1
Xi Xia

Profile:
Open Crossfit gym next to a box gym

Hi all,

New to posting on the forum and excited by the energy and open exchange of priceless advice. I've been doing CF for 6 months, got certified in Portland, Oly cert with Coach B, and haven't been this excited about training/teaching as a career as I am now.

So it seems like once you open a gym, getting new clients to come through the door and then retaining them is fundamental. Seems like some locations are better than others.

What opening up a CrossFit gym next door to a box gym be an ideal location? You would have high traffic of people that are into fitness, a week of free classes, and ability to compare and see difference in services pretty dramatically. Not that I have found such a space. Just wondering if anyone has done this or what people thought about this idea.

Xi Xia
Old 10-09-2007, 02:16 PM   #2
Randy Tarasevich

Profile:
Re: Open Crossfit gym next to a box gym

A few people have suggested this to me. They weren't really in the fitness business though. I don't think it would be that good of an idea.
Old 10-09-2007, 02:37 PM   #3
Sean Dunston

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Tarasevich View Post
A few people have suggested this to me. They weren't really in the fitness business though. I don't think it would be that good of an idea.
I would think it would be tough to "sell" memberships at $100 or more per month when the typical Globo can sell for $30/month.