CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 01-07-2009, 08:11 AM   #1
Ryan Whitley

Profile:

Are heavy squats really necessary?

I love to do squats. I also love to do them as heavy as possible. I don't know why, but something just feels good about knocking out some really, heavy squats. So before you respond, understand that I am not knocking squats or saying that they don't produce results.

But...

Are heavy squats really necessary?

I have been thinking a lot about this issue as of late. I am a soldier by trade, and therefore gear as much of my training as possible towards becoming
physically proficient in my chosen career. I know that the squat is always labeled as being the ultimate in functional exercises, but what is fuctional? Does a fuctional exercise develop a strength/skill that is used every day in one's life? Or is that skill training? I don't often load 400 + lbs on my back, squat down, and stand back up.

I understand that the squat grows muscle faster than just about any other exercise. But why is this good? What benefit do I have in being heavier? I would think that the deadlift would be much more beneficial for me. Or even odd object lifts. What do you think?

I appreciate all comments and opinions. Thanks.
Old 01-07-2009, 08:20 AM   #2
Michael Houghton

Profile:
Re: Are heavy squats really necessary?