CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 01-22-2005, 06:57 PM   #1
Paul Theodorescu

Profile:
So I've been practicing my Clean and have finally figured out that the bar actually comes in contact with the thigh at the "explosion point". I practiced extensively today and my thighs are going to be mighty bruised tomorrow. This normal?
Old 01-22-2005, 09:45 PM   #2
Matt Schwartz

Profile:

It's been normal for me but I'm no expert.
Matt
Old 01-23-2005, 09:26 AM   #3
Ross Hunt

Profile:
It doesn't happen to me, but then my second pull is weak; my hang clean pull is lagging behind my clean pull from the floor. Here is one good thread on bruises and o-lifts:

http://www.crossfit.com/discus/messages/22/2229.html

Maybe some of the real OL guys will chime in to deliver a verdict on this.
Old 01-24-2005, 09:31 AM   #4
Lincoln Brigham

Profile:
The bar should brush the thighs, not bruise them. Some lifters will have more contact than others, but have someone watch the bar path from the side. If you get a big loop at the top of the "S" shaped bar path with the bar going forward of the starting position, then you are swinging the bar. Too much horizontal hip movement into the bar, probably due to early knee extension/late hip extension.
Old 01-24-2005, 06:50 PM   #5
chris muscarella

Profile:

Curious. A lot of the more 'old-school' o-lifting coaches I've spoken with (think American and coming up in the 50s and 60s) really emphasize the double-dip and some contact with the bar at the hip.

Some of the younger guys don't even really mention it all. Anybody else have a similar experience?
Old 01-25-2005, 02:00 PM   #6
Lincoln Brigham

Profile: