CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 04-19-2013, 05:04 AM   #1
Jeffbmitchell

Profile:
medicine balls

Looks like the majority of the workouts if not all are wallballs. Im new to crossfit any recommendations on what size ball to get and where to get one at a good price. Thanks for your help. One last thing what is the piece of pvc pipe used for.
Old 04-19-2013, 02:40 PM   #2
Jeffbmitchell

Profile:
Re: medicine balls

Do I have to do something different to get a reply to one of my posts. If so please let me know. Thanks for the help guys.
Old 04-19-2013, 09:42 PM   #3
Blair Robert Lowe

Profile:

Jeff, sometimes the board is slow.

A lot of gyms use the PVC pipe to stretch besides Olympic Lift work. It works fine for the Snatch and Jerk and OHS and poor for the Clean.

I would go with a 20lb ball if you have some, if any strength and are not small. Some might say go with a 14lb, but I would only recommend something smaller than a 20lb if you are small or weaker than an average guy or older.

Rogue, AgainFaster, Christian'sFitnessFactory, Fringesport.

Or you can make your own if you really care to. Basketball or soccer ball and sand.
Old 04-20-2013, 02:04 PM   #4
Mark E. Wallace

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbmitchell View Post
Do I have to do something different to get a reply to one of my posts. If so please let me know. Thanks for the help guys.
Do you have some sort of expectation for how long you will have to wait for a reply? You didn't even wait a day.

- Mark
Old 04-20-2013, 02:39 PM   #5
Jeffbmitchell

Profile:

Just going by all the people that looked at the post with no response. So just thought I would ask sorry
Old 04-20-2013, 02:55 PM   #6
Blair Robert Lowe

Profile: