CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 12-07-2012, 09:01 PM   #1
Jason Bosch

Profile:
Need advice on starting my garage gym.

Hi guys. This is my first time posting here. But, I have been reading for a while now. This seems like a great resource for knowledge not just on Crossfit, but fitness and health in general. I can't join an affiliate like I would like due to my family situation. So I'm looking at working out in the garage with my girlfriend. I have a few questions that I'm hoping you can help me with.

I've been working on building up my garage gym. I started with just some basic gear I had when I was doing P90X. You know, dumbells, round medicine balls and the like. Then I got the Rogue Bravo package with a PowerTec power rack a bit ago. I made myself a plate storage rack modeled after the York single sided bumper storage. I didn't like the PowerTec rack because it had really crappy J-Cups that beat up my bar. So I sold that and now I have a Rogue R-3 on the way with a Matador attachment (So stoked to get that bad boy!). Now i'm working on finishing up my DIY GHD.

Anyways, Here are my questions. Equipment wise, what should be my next priorities? Next, how do you garage Crossfitters handle working out with another person when you have limited equipment? We currently only have one of everything. I do eventually want to get another Bravo package with a Bella bar. But, how is it best handled for now? Do you just program separate WODs that don't interfere? Or, maybe stagger when you and your partner start? Would you all have any other general tips for getting going?

Thanks!
Old 12-07-2012, 09:28 PM   #2
Matt Thomas

Profile:
Re: Need advice on starting my garage gym.