CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 11-03-2011, 08:19 PM   #1
Devin Ford

Profile:
CrossFit: The Superior Sport? Controversial Argument.

Hey Guys! I have been CrossFitting for 3 years now and compete in the games. I wrote an article titled "CrossFit: The Superior Sport?" on my EliteFit blog in hopes to start a rational discussion about CrossFit as a sport. I honestly do believe CrossFit is the superior sport and wanted some more opinions. I believe I made a valid argument, what do you think?

http://elitefitblog.com/crossfit-superior-sport/ (work/family safe)

Some have gotten offended and that is not my intent. Just stirring things up a bit!

Devin
Old 11-03-2011, 09:13 PM   #2
Jared Ashley

Profile:
Re: CrossFit: The Superior Sport? Controversial Argument.

There is no one "superior" sport, and if I had to pick one it wouldn't be CF. I do believe CF is a legit sport, but I find your arguments wildly unconvincing.

Being part of a team does NOT take the pressure off of you. If anything, it can increase pressure because you are competing (in a friendly way, but still competing) every single training session with your teammates to not be the weak link.

while CF certainly has a lot of real-life carryover, the same can be said of prettymuch anything else. Your statement that tennis players have no carryover belies an ignorance of the skill and fitness required in tennis. It's not just eye-hand coordination, it's also speed, power, endurance, accuracy, strength... sound familiar?