CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2012, 09:08 AM   #1
Brian Cerasuolo
Member Brian Cerasuolo is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lincoln Park  MI
Posts: 12
Any reason for more than an R3?

Hey I currently forced to workout at home right now so I was looking into investing into a nice home setup for a room in my house.

I'm going to stall mat it and use it as a lifting area.

I was looking for a good rack, and I see the Rogue R3 pop up a lot, but looking through the site, they have tons of other bigger/more expensive racks too

Is there really any reason from a possibility potential that the R3 can't handle. Like you could pretty much do any lift you could think of safely in it? the bigger cages are pretty much just convenience/gympeen at a bigger cost?

Thanks for the opinions
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:08 AM   #2
Stuart Bryden
Member Stuart Bryden is offline
 
Stuart Bryden's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Woodside  South Australia
Posts: 32
Re: Any reason for more than an R3?

Brian,

I have the R4 and went for it over the R3 because of concerns with 2 things. I wanted 2 people to be able to do kipping pullups at the same time (R3 depth at 23" might lead to lots of kicking each other in the junk and I don't like that).

The other one is related to depth also, being able to squat/press in the rack abd feel like I have room. This is fine in the R4 at 43" but again at 23" on the R3 not so sure. Take into consideration the plate storage which can reduce your space even more. Regardless of which one you get I recommend getting the single pin plate storage (more expensive but more flexible, the double pin storage gets in the way of the safety pins).

Good luck
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:33 AM   #3
Matthew Vesey
Member Matthew Vesey is offline
 
Matthew Vesey's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ottawa  ON Canada
Posts: 640
Re: Any reason for more than an R3?

I have the R6 (R3+R4 combined). The R3 serves as my area for storage of plates, bands, ropes, etc. In my honest opinion, it is a very small area to lift in and is quite claustrophobic. I would stick with an R4 if you are looking for a rack or an S-2+ if you want to have no issues with overhead ability.
__________________
Age:24, Height: 5'10, Weight: 180, 5km Row: 17:15.3, 500m Row:1:23.6, BS: 440, DL:540, Press: 205:My Log(WFS)
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 12:40 PM   #4
Joey Allen
Member Joey Allen is offline
 
Joey Allen's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sorrento  LA
Posts: 186
Re: Any reason for more than an R3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Cerasuolo View Post
Hey I currently forced to workout at home right now so I was looking into investing into a nice home setup for a room in my house.

I'm going to stall mat it and use it as a lifting area.

I was looking for a good rack, and I see the Rogue R3 pop up a lot, but looking through the site, they have tons of other bigger/more expensive racks too

Is there really any reason from a possibility potential that the R3 can't handle. Like you could pretty much do any lift you could think of safely in it? the bigger cages are pretty much just convenience/gympeen at a bigger cost?

Thanks for the opinions
I have the R3. It is a Godsend, especially in my smallish home gym. Would've loved something bigger, but the money and space were limitations. I have not come across any real limitations as far as exercises go with the R3. I would buy it again in a heartbeat. If I had the mula and the space sure I would go bigger.. but is it really needed? Nope.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 03:59 PM   #5
Gus Patino
Member Gus Patino is offline
 
Gus Patino's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Huntington  NY
Posts: 69
Re: Any reason for more than an R3?

I owned my R3 for a year and a half and LOVE IT! You wont regret it, now if you take more than 2 to 3 steps before you squat the 2 foot depth could be a problem for you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 12:29 AM   #6
Vilan Natanzon
Member Vilan Natanzon is offline
 
Vilan Natanzon's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brooklyn  NY
Posts: 45
Re: Any reason for more than an R3?

New Bolt together R-3 http://www.roguefitness.com/rogue-bolt-together-r-3.php (wfs) comes in 30" depth, might be a good compromise.

Westside Barbell uses an R-3. If those big dudes can fit in it and it can handle their abuse, probably good enough for anyone.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:29 AM   #7
Andy Kauth
Member Andy Kauth is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maricopa  AZ
Posts: 151
Re: Any reason for more than an R3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Allen View Post
I have the R3. It is a Godsend, especially in my smallish home gym. Would've loved something bigger, but the money and space were limitations. I have not come across any real limitations as far as exercises go with the R3. I would buy it again in a heartbeat. If I had the mula and the space sure I would go bigger.. but is it really needed? Nope.
This makes sense. If it is going in your house, and space is an issue, go R-3--I would imagine that depending upon space you won't have much room left if you go bigger. At my previous affiliate (am currently back in the garage), we used R-3s--we never had issues with space inside and did have a few big dudes. We used it for all and any lifts (from floor press to reverse band work)--no space issues. My next garage gym purchase will be an R-3.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:29 AM   #8
Michael Loucas
Member Michael Loucas is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fairfield  NJ
Posts: 1,373
Re: Any reason for more than an R3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vilan Natanzon View Post
New Bolt together R-3 http://www.roguefitness.com/rogue-bolt-together-r-3.php (wfs) comes in 30" depth, might be a good compromise.

Westside Barbell uses an R-3. If those big dudes can fit in it and it can handle their abuse, probably good enough for anyone.
Yeah, I have the shorty version of the R3. 6" shorter than regular ones, allows it to fit in a basement. Love it, definitely unnecessary to get anything bigger.

As far as the space arguement, you shouldn't need to step that far out of the rack while squatting, it is a waste of energy. And if when you squat the bar moves forward or backwards enough to hit the uprights you'll be falling over anyways. You have more problems than the depth of the rack. Heavy squats move up and down in a straight line.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:32 AM   #9
Eric J Leon
Member Eric J Leon is offline
 
Eric J Leon's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York  NY
Posts: 148
Re: Any reason for more than an R3?

The R3 is all you need
__________________
Level 1, CPC, POSE
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:44 AM   #10
Matt Thomas
Banned Matt Thomas is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando  FL
Posts: 3,648
Re: Any reason for more than an R3?

I don't own an R3, but the gym I used to go to had several. I liked it a lot. I had no issues with the space inside the rack. Were I in the market for a power rack I think the R3 is all I would need and I wouldn't hesitate to get one.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason Bill Kramer Starting 2 11-29-2007 07:23 AM
Reason the the Madness Brandon Michael Enos Workout of the Day 6 04-12-2007 02:51 PM
One reason to be fit Daniel Fannin Community 11 08-25-2006 06:23 AM
Reason Magazine Brad Hirakawa Community 30 05-11-2005 07:52 AM
Tis the reason... TJ Cooper Testimonials 3 12-21-2003 08:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit Inc.