CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 04-02-2014, 08:04 AM   #1
Wil Mercado

Profile:
Crossfit in my garage w/friends...problem?

I have been crossfitting out of my garage with a friend for a few months now. I am L1 certified and been in CF for 2yrs. This one friend has now turned into me training 8 people (no charge). Can someone sue me if they get hurt? If I start charging do I have to contact Crossfit or be registered as an affiliate? I don't know what to ask, but this is really snowballing on me and I want to do things the right way. People see us doing WODs in my garage and just come by and want to join in. I can't just say no.
Any advice would be great
Old 04-02-2014, 08:26 AM   #2
Christopher Morris

Profile:
Re: Crossfit in my garage w/friends...problem?

Well, you could say no. Some of the things you say sound like you're the type to let circumstances control you. ("turned into," "snowballing," "just come by," "can't say no") It's all right to have an opinion about how you want things to be happening, and to stick by it. Especially if you're the Level I and it's your garage.

In 'murica anyone can sue anybody at any time for any perceived wrong. It is possible that you could get sued by someone injured at your home.

Also, if you're advertising that you do "CrossFit," then you should register as an affiliate.

That being said, how close are these friends? How much common sense do they have? Do they take personal responsibility for their lives? Common sense says that if I go exercise, I assume some risk. I wouldn't sue unless the garage had something negligently wrong and dangerous that hurt me. Think about the level of risk you're comfortable with.