CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 11-08-2008, 11:44 AM   #1
Andrew Dossman

Profile:
Cf gym prices

Id love to join a gym in San Antonio during the year or in Houston for the summer when i go home for the summer, but the prices are way to high, im a college student who can barely afford to get through a week with a healthy belly full of food, id love to join one but i mean it ranges from 150 to 250 in price, and no way in hell i could afford that. So sad =(
Old 11-08-2008, 12:50 PM   #2
Dustin Berry

Profile:
Re: Cf gym prices

That's the biggest reason that I don't attend an affiliate when I'm in the States also. It's free in Iraq, lol.
Old 11-08-2008, 01:08 PM   #3
Brian Lawyer

Profile:

I don't see how they stay in business. They are using a program that is designed around a minimal amount of equipment and workouts that can be done in anyone's garage. It's tough to compete with something that is free in someone's own garage. That is after investing in some equipment. But at $150/month only about 4 months of fees will have you a pretty sweet gym.

I personally go to a local crossfit gym only to utilize there O'Lifting coach to work on my form. The owner cut me a deal so I am pretty much paying on a walk on basis for training. It's also 30 minutes from my house. If it was say 5 minutes from my house, I would seriously consider doing a monthly membership just because the coaching is awesome. It's great to have a knowledgeable coach on duty all the time.
Old 11-08-2008, 01:35 PM   #4
Andy Gann

Profile:

You're paying for their knowledge and experience. It's not like your typical globo where the 'trainers' don't have to know anything b/c the machine forces your movement...