CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 09-20-2008, 12:11 PM   #1
Stephen Smith

Profile:
dislocated elbow

I was trying to do an L-sit on parallettes today and I had my elbows hyperextended, and dislocated my left elbow. The radius bone popped out and looked pretty jacked up, but when I straightened my arm it popped back in. It's a bit sore and stiff right now, but I was able to (with great care and very deliberate movements) complete my workout without much difficulty. I haven't decided yet whether I will go to the doctor, since I'm not sure they could do anything for me anyway short of surgery, and I don't want to go that route. I would like some advice for care and recovery following something like this. This is the first time I've ever hurt an elbow and I have no experience here.
Old 09-20-2008, 12:24 PM   #2
Frank E Morel

Profile:
Re: dislocated elbow

Well, you should go see the md for this, only for an xray to ensure you havent chip the bone or make sure the alignment is correct. If the joint is working, most likely you in correctly.
If you haven't loss any sensation to your hand then its in correctly.

ICE ICE ICE for 15 mins every hour and keep moving the arm.. just dont lift anything.

You should consider looking for some rehab exercises to re strengthen that joint again.
Old 09-20-2008, 02:19 PM   #3
George Mounce

Profile:

Second the doctor - too many with injuries, issues lately wondering whether they should go to the doctor when they do something abnormal or have something weird going on.

Go!
Old 09-20-2008, 03:31 PM   #4
Stephen Smith

Profile: