CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 08-26-2008, 02:10 PM   #1
Heather G. Patterson

Profile:
Yet, another New Member

Hello to all-

I am VERY new to this crossFit program. I did my first workout on Sunday, and have been following the WOD, one day behind. Did Murph today. A little about me. I was NOT an athlete to begin with, but decided to get fit about 5 years ago by doing aerobic tapes like the FIRM and Tae Boe. That started the weightloss and fitness, but I quickly found that I enjoyed working out. I did "light" weights and lots of cardio. I discovered I love to run, and have successfully completed 2 marathons (qualifiying for Boston), several 1/2's and countless 10k's and 5k's. I now cycle and do a little swimming in the hopes of maybe doing a tri. 2 years ago I discovered rowing and that is my new love. But in finding it, I found out that I had the WRONG muscle makeup. Long distance running and explosive power of rowing really doesn't mix. I was told my coach last year to "Hit the weights". Which I attempted for all of 1 month. It wasn't that I didn't enjoy the muscle strength, but I hated the boring of the machines. So I fell back on my cardio and that got me through for the last year, but I am now at the point where I NEED muscle. So rather than running another marathon this fall, I was going back to the machines. THEN, one of my rowing buddies showed me Nasty Girls and DAMN!!!!! Those girls are strong and have the explosive power I need. They are my size and don't look like Hulk Hogan....and the workouts looked fun, hard, and right up my alley. Now 3 days later, I am hooked. I can't wait to try the workouts and I was blest to have had Shane Hammon, the USA olympic weightlifter, coaching at my boathouse for awhile so those lifts aren't foreign to me...and I love tha