CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 11-28-2007, 03:00 PM   #1
Eva Bigongiari

Profile:
Crossfitting for new moms

I've been checking out this website for a while now, so it's time I introduced myself. . .

I'm a personal trainer (ACSM HFI), formerly of a big box gym, but now I am a full-time stay-at-home mom. I had a troubled pregnancy that resulted in my baby girl being born 10 weeks early and blood pressure problems for me. (As you can see from my avatar, our precious principessa is doing fine now.) It's time that I get serious about returning to my previous fitness level, or hopefully better.
When I was first released to start exercising again I had to take things really slow. I attend Stroller Strides classes 4 x week both for the exercise and for the socialization that me and my daughter get. I've attended a few Crossfit workouts at Crossfit Texas, but I haven't been able to start doing the WODs yet. No equipment and a high maintenance baby have made things difficult. An ideal situation would be combining Crossfit and Stroller Strides, so that my baby could come with me on my workouts. I'm wracking my brain to figure out how to do that. It's hard to really push yourself when you have to attend to a baby during the workout. If there are any other Crossfitters out there that are new moms, I'd be glad to hear how you worked things out. I'm asking my husband for a set of Elite rings for Christmas. I really hope that I get them

Thanks for reading my long intro. Good luck to everyone else out there.
Old 11-28-2007, 05:28 PM   #2
Johan Blixt Dackhammar

Profile:
Re: Crossfitting for new moms

One of these and a pull-up bar or rings will make quite some workout while keeping her close.