CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-10-2007, 09:21 AM   #1
larry guyett

Profile:
I've been doing crossfit for a few months. My daughter who does jv cheer and BB could benefit from crossfit mostly for BB. Now I'll only have 3 days a week after the season and thur the summer.

Weightlifting wise I'll start her with squats, deadlifts, pushpulls and then add thrusters wallballs ,cleans, box jumps etc.

Now my favorites are Fight gone bad, Anne are you ok type workouts.
My question is with 3 days a week how should I break up the workouts ? 2 days of oly and powerlift type workouts and one day of fight gone bad type ? Or switch every other day etc. ?

She needs strength along with endurance.

Thanks. I'm open to any suggestions.
Old 01-10-2007, 10:05 AM   #2
Keith Wittenstein

Profile:
Larry

I wouldn't cherry pick the WODs. If you have followed the WODs you'll see that they are arranged in a 3-on/1-off sequence. I would just take one of those 3 day chunks and spread it out over her 3 workouts.

Another route to take is the Maximum Effort Black Box. Replace the middle day with a pure strength effort like 5x5 back squats or 10x3 deadlifts. The first and third days can be metcon.

Good luck and let us know how it goes.
Old 01-10-2007, 12:06 PM   #3
larry guyett

Profile:
Thanks i like that idea of taking the 3 wod and spreading them out over the 3 workouts a week.

I may start with a month of learning DL's, squats, pushpress etc.

Keep 'em coming thanks.

(Message edited by Larry on January 10, 2007)
Old 01-10-2007, 01:41 PM   #4
Jeff Martin

Profile:
Larry,
I have a little bit of experience with this. I just sent off an email regarding strength training kids. Here is a portion of it.