CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 04-11-2007, 01:02 PM   #1
John M. Holcomb

Profile:
I'm new to CrossFit, but above average in knowledge of exercise. And like most things in my life I know just enough to be dangerous, but as I look at the WOD's and the list of exercises I see few if any movements with twisting in them. Isn't this a basic human movement pattern? Throwing, swinging a club or bat, starting a lawn mower all have a twist in them.

This quote got me thinking about it some more, 'In Dorothy Voss's book, Proprioceptive Neuromuscular Facilitation,she states that muscles are connected to bones in spiral and diagonal patterns, not in straight lines. These patterns of muscle attachment should be reflected in the way we strengthen our muscles. Most traditional exercises, however, assume a straight-line connection, and many standard machines force the body to move in straight lines.'

So, why no twisting movments? Is it a equipment limitation in an effort to keep it simple?
Old 04-12-2007, 04:09 AM   #2
Anthony Bainbridge

Profile:
The WOD is an example designed to be usable by a wide range of people/gyms. You never see tire flips, sledgehammer work, throwing, swimming, punching, etc. ... but all of those are heavily recommended.

Also, Cosgrove says in his book "The New Rules of Lifting" that preventing your body from twisting has similar benefits as actually twisting.
Old 04-12-2007, 06:01 AM   #3
Bradford Green

Profile:
"Vertical force translates well into rotational force"--Greg Glassman