CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 04-11-2006, 08:00 PM   #1
John Fox

Profile:
Hey I'm new to the zone (about a week) and I was wondering what the adverse affects of sugar free products such as diet soda/energy drinks are, if any. I'm not really so concerned with long term health risks and I know supposively it causes cancer I'm more looking for wether or not it affects muscle growth, fat loss, or metabolism. stuff like that. Also are the zone bars a good 2 block snack if you're on the go even though they contain sugar?
Old 04-12-2006, 07:32 AM   #2
Jason Billows

Profile:
John,

You should download and listen to the Crossfit Live episode on nutrition. It was one of the first few episodes I believe.

In it, Rob Wolfe talked about artificial sweeteners. As I recall, artificial sweeteners have similar effects on your body as sugar. While you don't necessarily have the calories, your body reacts in a similar way and can affect hormone levels which will ultimately have a negative effect on your fitness gains. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. :-)