CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 10-20-2008, 05:48 PM   #1
Gabriel Refuerzo

Profile:
Proper form: light vs. heavy weights

Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to crossfit and I have a question after doing the WOD today. ( thrusters, hang power cleans, deadlift hiigh pulls)
I started w/ a scale down to 75 lbs for my first set, but it seemed too light and it felt like my form w/ lighter weights tends to be a little off. Is this common? It seems like going to the 95 rx'd weight made me use my hips and legs for more of the power cleans as opposed to what felt like relying on my arms pulling the weight up with the lighter weight. Also, what is better overall, doing a scaled down WOD for higher complete rounds or doing the rx'd weight for less rounds? I completed 1 round w/ 75lbs and 3 more w/ 95lbs + 1/2 of one last round before 20 minutes. I could have probably finished 6-7 rounds w/ 75lbs and I wasted a minute or two loading the bar up for the95 lb sets. Since I'm new to some of these lifts I'm a little more deliberate in my lifts and I'm not really racing the clock quite yet, baby steps I suppose, but I think as a newbie I need to focus on form more than output so I'm not dissappointed that I'm not getting 8-10 set done in 20mins. Well let me know what you all think.
Old 10-20-2008, 11:13 PM   #2
Stephen R. Lampl

Profile:
Re: Proper form: light vs. heavy weights

Gabriel,