CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 11-26-2008, 09:34 AM   #1
Abinav Shankar Narayan

Profile:
Game-day Nutrition

What does one consume during intervals in competitive sports like Soccer,Tennis, Baseball,Bball etc.?
The idea is to replenish Glycogen levels,right? Whats suggested?
High GI carbs like bananas,potatoes and the likes? Simple or Complex sugars?
Do high fat 'nuts' have a role to play during competition?
Old 11-26-2008, 01:11 PM   #2
Kathryn Sorensen

Profile:
Re: Game-day Nutrition

i'm curious about that too. i do my long runs on saturdays (usually 10-14 miles) i've used energy gu's and such. is that still okay? i've been zoning now for 6-8 weeks not prefect, i'm still learning but trying real hard. i'm taking in 9-10 block groups a day (carb blocks being my favorite i sort of treasure them). from what i can tell those gu's are so not zone! i need something though. any sugestions?
Old 11-26-2008, 01:28 PM   #3
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:

I was a big fan of oranges when I played rugby.

which is also a line in a famous rugby soung
Old 11-26-2008, 01:41 PM   #4
Andy Gann

Profile:

Well, I'm not an eilte athlete/pro nutritionist or anything but here's my $.02.

I think that it's all about the timing of replenishing your glycogen stores and controlling your insulin levels. For me, I performed better through an entire 90 minute soccer game by eating a glycogen replenishing meal (high GI carbs - pastas, rice, breads ...) the night before a soccer game and then, on the day of the game - I stayed away from foods that would cause an insulin spike (breads, pastas, rice), especially during the two or three hours prior to the game.