CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 06-08-2007, 08:20 AM   #1
Jacob Cloud

Profile:
Hola,

I'm new to Crossfit, after being physically stagnant for the last couple years after being a high school athlete and collegiate wannabee. As a result, I've ballooned up to 250+ pounds, my joints are all outta wack, and in general, I'm in the absolute worst shape of my life. For now.
I'm serious about getting back "in shape" (rather than ROUND!), and CF provides everthing I crave, and has goals aligned with mine. I tried 3 rounds of yesterday's WOD with my workout partner and gf, and we are all feeling it today!

My main question surrounds 500m rows. I am absolutely hooked on these after first trying them last week when I stumbled on a C2. I can't run for jack, but I really enjoy rowing myself silly. Last night, on my 4th and final 500m row, I pulled a 1:42.0, and was on pace for a 139.9 until the last 100m when I completely bonked.

Is this decent? I'm ahead of my workout partner and gf by a bit - should I continue to push for new PR's every week? Will I achieve them? How fast does the learning curve start leveling off?

Hope this is a valid question - I did some searching and couldn't really find the answer. Thanks in advance for any input!
Old 06-08-2007, 08:28 AM   #2
Steven L Blondeau

Profile:
Jacob,
Go to the Concept 2 website. They have age and weight bracketed rankings for pulls of varying distances.
Old 06-08-2007, 12:03 PM   #3
Andy Rogers

Profile:
Jacob! G'luck with the effort and your goals! =)

Two links that may help:
http://www.crossfit.com/discus/messages/22/42680.html

... addresses time questions and then digresses (my fault, I'm affraid) into damper settings, a topic that was well covered in:

http://www.crossfit.com/discus/messages/22/13650.html