CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 03-25-2012, 05:42 AM   #1
Colin Dutton

Profile:
Question from a Noobie

Good Morning to my new crossfit family- I'm excited to be on this forum to be able to ask as many dumb questions as I can.... so I apologize in advance if my newness frustrates the living hell out of you.

A little about my background- I am a lifelong athlete who always trended on the huskier side, but used my size/strength to my advantage in high school to get recruited to be a thrower on a D1 track program. I got super strong as a hammer thrower, but also super pudgy, so when I graduated about 6 years ago, I decided to change all that. Anyway, I've tried various things with various results since then, and about a year ago, my brother in law introduced me to crossfit, but it wasn't really until I saw the games that I saw it as something I should get into.

First question- I'm used to spending no less than 45 mins in the gym finishing a workout, but I see a lot of workouts that will tell you to do as many rounds as possible in 7, 10, of 20 minutes, and thats it. So, if you complete said workout, if you still have evergy left, would you go do something else? For example, if you have a workout that appears to be leg/back heavy, after the WOD, if you had the energy to do so, would you go do a few more leg/back strengthening exercises? I'm sure this is covered in the FAQ section of the crossfit site, but I'd really like to hear the perspectives of the people actually doing the workouts.

Thanks for any insight you are willing to share!
CD
Old 03-25-2012, 07:59 AM   #2
Eric Montgomery

Profile:
Re: Question from a Noobie