CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 01-15-2007, 09:55 PM   #1
Brian Cornwell

Profile:
Hey Everyone, I was just wondering what some of you did to get your bodyweight bench numbers up. I spent the last month and a half adding in 5x5 sessions with several key exercises (including bench press) and have added about 20 pounds to 5 rep max, As of now I can bench press my bodyweight (175 lbs) 7 to eight times all out (I'm relatively new to bench pressing so please don't laugh at my numbers). Iwould really like to put up some better reps/times on some WODs that include BW benches. Is it better to continue upping the weight with more 5x5s so that 175 becomes relatively easier, or is their a more direct approach? Much Appreciation for any help.
Old 01-15-2007, 11:16 PM   #2
Dan Ensing

Profile:
Best way to increase the bench press is to bench press, but lift more weight each time. Sure, you could add more sets, but use the same weight and argue that the total poundage lifted during the workout has increased, hence I'm doing more work. Or, you could keep reps/sets/weights the same but move the bar through the range of movement faster. Again, technically you are doing more work. But, if you really, truly want to make the weight feel lighter (in this case 175 lbs.), than add another 5 lbs. Shortly, 180 lbs. will be as easy as 175. At that point, you add more weight, and so on.

Also, look at the other muscles involved in bench pressing. It's just not the pecs, because if that was the case flyes and pec deck would increase BP numbers. Don't forget your triceps, shoulders, and upper back. These areas are hit hard by CF.

BTW, no one will laugh at your numbers. The fact that you accepted a tough challenge, and an even tougher workout is admirable.

Good luck.

Dan