CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 07-02-2003, 05:16 PM   #1
Justin Rawley

Profile:

Hey guys,
I don't know if this is a common complaint, but I am always hungry. I eat all the time and I used to eat just about anything (except heavy fats and fried things). For about the last six months, I have tried to cut refined sugars and starches, first dropping sodas from 20oz+ per day to 1 or 2 10oz servings or less per week. A lot of all the other sugary foods I used to eat are significantly reduced or nixed altogether. I now eat more fruits to get the simple sugars but I'm still always hungry. My protein intake is good. What is the deficit?
Old 07-02-2003, 05:46 PM   #2
Barry Cooper

Profile:
I'm no expert, and I'm not skinny, but I'm not hungry, either, and I'm going to have to go with fat.

The definition of the "Zone" in the Zone diet is that you have no hunger for 4-6 hours after a meal, and good mental clarity. The Zone, of course, is 30% of your calories from Protein, 30% from fat (good fat, now), and 40% low glycemic index carbohydrates. Some fruits are actually pretty high glycemic index, so that could be an issue also.
Old 07-03-2003, 09:44 AM   #3
Roger Harrell

Profile:
It could be diet, it could also be partially genetic, or your specific activities/lifestyle. I'm also hungry all the time. I'm a bit hyperthyroid because of some issues with my mom while she was carrying me so that's part of it.

There is no way I can go 4-6 hours after a meal with no hunger unless I absolutely stuff myself, and that just aint good. I eat almost every 2 hrs. I wake up starving almost every morning.
Old 07-03-2003, 11:05 AM   #4
Scott Kustes

Profile: