CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 04-20-2009, 05:50 PM   #1
Gabriel Goodwin

Profile:
Shoulder instability as a result of CrossFit?

I have been doing CrossFit for seven months now with tremendous gains in all areas of fitness, however lately I have noticed instability in both shoulders that was not there before I started CrossFit. Before doing CrossFit I had been doing a traditional bodybuilding bodypart split routine. I notice this problem specifically with kipping pullups. In a workout that involves a lot of pull ups, I am fine for the first 20-30. However, after that, my shoulders start to pop and it feels like something is shifting. If I continue doing pull ups after this point, the joint starts to get real sore, real fast. A couple weeks ago when I was running an obstacle course as part of my training for the Marine Corps, I felt my left shoulder pop out of the socket for a second and then pop back in while doing a college boy roll, essentially a very exaggerated pull up.

I don't want to stop CrossFit, I love it and the tremendous fitness it has afforded me. But, can anyone shed some light on why it is making my shoulders unstable? Does everyone have to just take a break every now and then? Maybe the human body cannot tolerate movements as intense and explosive as the kipping pull up over and over, for months at a time. I can't continue doing crossfit if it is causing instability that results in dislocations.
Old 04-20-2009, 06:48 PM   #2
Brian Bedell

Profile:
Re: Shoulder instability as a result of CrossFit?

I think it is more like your BB routine gave you weak shoulders and now you are realizing it b/c of CF. Scale your workouts more, esp. kipping apparently, and take more fish oil.
Old 04-20-2009, 07:15 PM   #3