CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 09-15-2008, 11:34 AM   #1
Arturo Garcia

Profile:
If you were forced to skip day 2 of the 3 day cycle...

What would you do?

Ok, the case in point is that I did the bench press, pull-ups and squats for 5 rounds workout. Then I had to do a Hero WOD, but I could not workout that day. So today, which would be the "third" day of the workout, I did what I needed to do yesterday. I chose one I had not done yet - Joshie. I scaled down to 15 reps (total 90) of 40# DB squat snatch, and 10 reps (total 60) of N-pull-ups. I'm still a noob and this took almost 42 minutes! Too much for a metcon, huh? Should've scaled more.. I was not aware of how difficult N-pullups can be (and the workout actually called for L-pullups!!!). I feel they are MUCH more difficult than even strict, deadhang pull-ups with no kip, the beggining of the movement feels so weird to me, like the shoulder is in a very different possition.

Anyways... I finished that workout at 1pm. I'm back at work now, and I was thinking that with a few hours rest (5, to be exact), at 6pm after I leave here and get home, I could do the strength workout that was supossed to be my third day workout... clean+jerk 3-3-3-3-3. This is a strength one, so lots of rest between sets is allowed and I wouldn't be so gassed, heavily breathing and stuff like I was doing my version of Joshie.

Is this a good idea? Or should I do the strength workout tomorrow? If I do the latter, then I would have no rest before my next 3 day cycle and would be working out 5 days in a row. Since I rested yesterday... maybe I can do this second workout today, and rest tomorrow, and I should be OK for the next cycle? I mean, it's not like two metcons, one is a strength one...