CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Digital Coaching
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Coaching Post pictures or movies for critique and coaching

Old 02-10-2010, 08:33 AM   #1
James Frederick

Profile:
Kipping Form Check

I've been working on my kipping pullups for a while now and I still can't seem to quite get it down. Does anyone have some useful info for me?

Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AbPvZhi16_s
Old 02-10-2010, 09:45 AM   #2
Brad Motzer

Profile:
Re: Kipping Form Check

I am far from an expert in this area, but it appears that you're bailing out of the backswing to try to go vertical too soon. When watching Tucker teach the Kip in the CFJ, he has Annie demonstrate the full swing without the vertical pull. She gets so far back in the swing that she's actually launched vertically to where her hands start to come off the bar. He talks a lot about keeping the hollow position through the forward and backswing and it just appears you're losing that a little too soon. Hope that helps.
Old 02-10-2010, 10:22 AM   #3
James Frederick

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad Motzer View Post
I am far from an expert in this area, but it appears that you're bailing out of the backswing to try to go vertical too soon. When watching Tucker teach the Kip in the CFJ, he has Annie demonstrate the full swing without the vertical pull. She gets so far back in the swing that she's actually launched vertically to where her hands start to come off the bar. He talks a lot about keeping the hollow position through the forward and backswing and it just appears you're losing that a little too soon. Hope that helps.
Thanks for the info, I'm not subscribed to the CFJ yet though, so I'm not sure what part exactly you are talking about. Can you expound a bit more on the "hollow position"?
Old 02-10-2010, 10:48 AM   #4
Matt Haxmeier

Profile: