CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 08-21-2012, 07:53 PM   #1
Matt Cook

Profile:
Oly Lifting Inside of a Squat Rack?

Hey guys! this is my first post, and I'm not sure if its in the right place. Anyways, I am a college student who crossfits at my university gym. Today I was informed that they have a new policy requiring all olympic lifts to be performed inside of a squat rack. This is supposed to be in order to save space. The squat racks are usually taken and all but 1 are too small for my to be able to do anything overhead. I am planning on meeting with the gym manager next week to ask him if they could change this, but first I wanted to see if any more experience olympic lifters had any thoughts or wisdom on lifting inside of a squat rack.

So what should I say in order to explain why oly lifting only in a squat rack is an awful idea? It seems to me this makes oly lifts much more dangerous, does anyone have any experience or knowledge they can share on this issue?

Thanks a lot!
-Matt
Old 08-21-2012, 08:21 PM   #2
Justin McGinley

Profile:
Re: Oly Lifting Inside of a Squat Rack?

A few things.

1) the Olympic lifts are the "Snatch" and the "Clean & Jerk"

2) it is likely that your gym is asking you to squat and press inside the squat rack. Many people call other lifts (squats, deadlifts, etc) "Olympic lifts" when they aren't actually Olympic lifts. (it is possible that they do know what the Oly lifts are, and that you have to do them inside a rack, which leads to point 3)

3) It is TERRIBLY unsafe to Snatch and Clean & Jerk inside a squat rack. Seriously. You have zero room for error.

4) it is likely that you can do presses and Push Presses right in front of the rack. Ask for forgiveness, not permission.
Old 08-21-2012, 08:25 PM   #3
Clint Harris

Profile: