CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 02-28-2004, 01:36 PM   #1
Scott Parker

Profile:
just wanted to make some comments and ask a few diet related questions and see what everyone thought.

i've been folowing this program and a paleo-style diet for about a 18 months now, and the results have been nothing short of amazing.

when i started i was following a very strict (to the letter) paleo diet and quickly began losing bodyfat and gaining muscle. the only problem i was experiencing was a dramatic increase to my already enormous appetite, probably mostly due to the increased workload i was putting my body through.

throught this entire time i have been "tinkering" (thanks to mr. wolf!) and experimenting with different foods and this is how i have been eating lately:

1 gram of protein per pound of total bodyweight spaced over 5 or 6 meals throught the day.

each meal i have an assortment of veggies (any combination of brocolli, kale, spinach, collards, chard, red & yellow peppers, squash) with either half an organic yam or sweet potato. if i don't have the sweet potato i will have a slice of some sort of wheat-free, whole grain bread (usually a spelt/rye bread).

if i am at school a meal usually consists of a whey protein shake with walnuts blended in, some raw veggies and/or a piece of fruit (usually a macintosh apple).

i know this diet is no longer paleo, but i have found that this combination has, for the most part alleviated the intense hunger and i don't get light'headed like i used to. i really think this mostly has to do with the addition of the yams, fruit and occasional bread (note that these have been added in small amounts).