CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 12-06-2009, 10:13 AM   #1
Liz Stanley

Profile:
Greetings from Minnesota

Hi all, I'm new here and thought I'd introduce myself. I've been a member at a local gym for a few years, attending a 6 am boot camp class there for the last year. It's been good but I'm ready for something different and more challenging, especially from a strength perspective.

I started lifting with the New Rules of Lifting a couple of years ago, and have been doing Starting Strength more recently. I want to be around people who follow the same type of program, and particularly around women who aren't afraid to lift heavy (which I never see at my current gym.) So, I took the plunge and signed up with a local CF affiliate, starting in January when my current boot camp class ends. I went in for an evaluation last week, and will do a couple intro sessions this month. I'm really looking forward to it!

Here are some stats:

Height: 5'5"
Weight: 125 lb
Squat: 125, deadlift: 200, press: 75, bench: 100, chinups/pullups: 10/5. OH squat is a work in progress, as is the power clean.

Other stuff: By day I'm a computer programmer, and outside of the gym I enjoy softball, bird watching, photography, and gardening with native plants. I volunteer for the Raptor Center, and am working on my MN Master Naturalist certification.
Old 12-07-2009, 10:12 AM   #2
Mark E. Wallace

Profile:
Re: Greetings from Minnesota

Welcome aboard, Liz. Hope you find this to as awesome a journey as the rest of us do.

Cheers,

- Mark
Old 12-07-2009, 02:52 PM   #3
Damian Hirtz

Profile:

Hi Liz,