CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-25-2006, 09:24 PM   #1
Jeff Merage

Profile:  
Hey all,
I'm just starting out with CF, and I've just started taking Jiu Jitsu & Kick Boxing. Should I try to do the 3 On/1 Off WOD's and martial arts, or should I replace one of the 3 days with my martial arts training.
Thanks for the help.
Old 01-26-2006, 01:30 PM   #2
John Vivian

Profile:
Welcome, Jeff!

i suggest starting slowly with CrossFit. Make sure you have read both "Start Here!" and the FAQ on the main page (left side) before getting going. You will probably want to scale back on the workouts (lighter weights, fewer reps / sets, slower pace) while you ramp up. Give it about a month or so before stepping up the intensity.

In terms of how to schedule your workouts, if you can stick with the 3 on 1 off, great. That said, depending on how intense your MA classes are, you will likely need to temper and taper your workouts so you don't over train. At least for the first while. If your MA classes are pretty intense, then replacing a CF workout with a heavy MA class would seem to be fine.

Hope this helps.

john
Old 01-26-2006, 02:17 PM   #3
Jeff Merage

Profile:  
John,
Thanks for the reply. I plan to scale back the intensity on the WOD's as you suggest, but am concerned about recovery time. I was thinking I would try the following schedule;

Day 1 - MA, Day 2 - CF, Day 3 - CF, Day 4 - rest
Day 5 - MA, Day 6 - CF, Day 7 - rest.

Do you see any problems with this type of schedule?
Old 01-26-2006, 03:54 PM   #4
Beth Moscov

Profile:
Jeff - what level of activity were you doing before all this? If you are going from sedentary, then move slowly. If you were already quite active and just changing what you do now, then the schedule you suggest is fine.