CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 06-13-2004, 06:41 AM   #1
Paul Kayley

Profile:
Big race coming soon... need information regarding the effects of fat intake upon rate of rehydration. I want to eat fats during my 10 hour race but dont want to compromise race-hydration... has anyone encountered research which might indicate impaired gatric emptying/intestinal water absorption due to fat ingestion??? Either that or your thoughts?
Old 06-13-2004, 07:57 AM   #2
Ross Hunt

Profile:
Paul,

Are you planning on eating just fats?
I'm no nutritional expert, but it seems like doing a 10-hour fat fast in conjunction with a race is a recipe for ketosis, so wouldn't eating only fats for the race cause massive dehydration?

Just a shot in the dark,

Ross
Old 06-13-2004, 09:28 AM   #3
Paul Kayley

Profile:
Sorry Ross, I didnt make myself very clear... in a rush as usual! I want to eat MCTs in form of coconut oil combined with chocolate, AS WELL AS my carbohydrate/electrolyte drink. Intend to try in training first but reading existing research would be nice.

PS that was meant to be 'gastric'!
Old 06-13-2004, 09:38 AM   #4
Paul Kayley

Profile:
I think what I'm asking is...
"Does eating fats during exercise, slow down the absorption of water from the intestines?"

I know that reseach has found that drinking a fluid too rich in carbs/electrolytes can slow gastric emptying and therefore rehydration potential.
Old 06-13-2004, 05:50 PM   #5
Jay Edvardz

Profile:

Possibly a bit off topic; when I eat a good deal of fat and drink a good deal of water, I tend to feel extremely nauseous.

-Jay
Old 06-14-2004, 09:49 AM   #6
Neill S. Occhiogrosso

Profile:
Paul: