CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 10-22-2003, 08:07 AM   #1
Bryan Wheeler

Profile:  
I'm new to the crossfit site, but I have been training for years. I was a wrestler in high school and I have trained ever since.

As a wrestler, I've always loved chins. The last 2 months, my elbows have been killing me. The pain is located in the 'points' of my elbows. ( inside of elbows that curve our from the humerous. )

I get pain from chins, and almost any type of pull up movement. It even hurts when I wash my hair in the shower. :-(

I've tried resting for a week to give it a chance to get better with no luck.

As far as how I injured the elbows, I think that it may have had something to do with with Thruster variation I was doing a few months ago.

I was alternating pushpresses with press behind the necks and squats.

It's agravating to me that now I can barely do sets of 10 chins. I used to be able to up to 26 chins in a set.

Any ideas?

I haven't been to the doctor, but I'm guessing it would just be diagnosed at tendonitis.

Old 10-22-2003, 08:49 AM   #2
Robert Wolf

Profile:
Bryan-

Get several styrafoam cups, fill them 3/4 full of water and freeze them. peel the styrafoam down such that an inch of ice is exposed. Ice the affected areas to numbness (3-5min) 4-6 times per day. It will hurt like hell but it may break the inflamation. Once you get going again in say 10 days try a wide variety of chin grips to shift load and tension on the elbows.
Robb
Old 10-22-2003, 11:40 AM   #3
Robert Riddle

Profile:  
Bryan-