CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Pukie's Bucket
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pukie's Bucket Bogus threads, trolls, and other malarkey

Old 06-27-2012, 02:39 PM   #1
Hannah McFarlane

Profile:
Crossfit Culture and Dissenters

I'm fairly new to Crossfit, but as I have become more involved in the sport, I have also started to become more involved in the online community. I like following people like Fitness Lonnie, Drywall, and (to the point of this post) The Naked Crossfitter.

As some of you are probably aware, a dispute has arisen between HQ and The Naked Crossfitter. On its face, it is a trademark dispute, but it seems the real driver is that Armen is too critical of Crossfit.

So I think this brings up an interesting point for discussion: Is there a place for people like Armen in the larger Crossfit community? Or is HQ right in trying to shut him down?

Old 06-27-2012, 03:46 PM   #2
Sean Dunston

Profile:
Re: Crossfit Culture and Dissenters

I don't pretend to know the ins-and-outs of this, and I'm not even sure if this is worthy of discussion on this forum.
That said-
I don't think that the issue is that he has criticism of HQ and that HQ is shutting him down - everyone is entitled their opinion.
It appears to me that the issue is that he uses a name that is either protected by a trademark owned by HQ, or the name he is using is so close in name/sound/likeness that it can be confused by the public to be associated with HQ... and he is potentially making a profit off that by selling shirts, etc.
It looks like he can say whatever he wants about CF/HQ/etc., but he can not do it with a name/likeness that can be confused with legally protected (trademarked) property of CrossFit, Inc.

Old 06-27-2012, 06:30 PM   #3
Hannah McFarlane

Profile:
Re: Crossfit Culture and Dissenters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Dunston View Post