CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 09-10-2009, 01:27 PM   #1
Evan Wharton

Profile:
Questions re: Push Jerk

I've never done this movement before (or even heard of it), so I wanted to get some thoughts before I did the WOD.

What kind of load should I be looking to do (compared to press)?
I can press 135x5 fairly easy; it seems like the movement would allow for more weight...but, as this is a new movement dropping weight to try to get better form seems wiser.

Front or back?
The exercise video demonstrations show both, is this just preference?

Is that jump in the latter half of the movement necessary?

Thanks!
Old 09-10-2009, 01:39 PM   #2
Paul Sousa

Profile:
Re: Questions re: Push Jerk

I would try practicing form at a lower weight, but you are correct in that you shoudl be able to push press a good amount more than strict press. I could push press 175x5 when I was doing 135x5 for a strict press. I would stick with the bar in the front as it will help translate over to Oly work better (but variation is fun so by all means you can do both). And your feet should stay planted for a push press. A push jerk is when they would leave the floor.
Old 09-10-2009, 01:41 PM   #3
Evan Wharton

Profile:

That's why I'm asking about a push jerk! (its the WOD)
Old 09-10-2009, 01:50 PM   #4
Paul Sousa

Profile:

My reading comprehension is at a 2nd grade level.

But I think all except my comment about the feet leaving the ground still applies, with the only change being that you should be able to push jerk even more than push press.

Last edited by Paul Sousa : 09-10-2009 at 01:52 PM.
Old 09-10-2009, 04:31 PM   #5
Marcus Allen

Profile:

Evan- your feet leave the ground only enough to create the "weightless" effect so you can get under the bar. Its not really a "jump".