CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 08-29-2006, 10:36 AM   #1
Christian Hansen

Profile:
I went for a long walk on Sunday on the beach and interspersed some sprints and some short runs. I was either in bare feet at the beach or wearing Converse All Stars. I tried to focus on a forefoot strike and a short contact time with the ground. Felt really good but the next day (and today) my calves are DOMSing hard. Is this pretty normal when heel strikers try to convert to a forefoot strike? It makes sense but this change is purely self taught so I don't want to be messing myself up. Also, is it OK to run with the DOMS or should I wait until no pain?
Old 08-29-2006, 11:07 AM   #2
Ben Kaminski

Profile:
The DOMS is normal. If you keep running regularly this way then your calves will adapt and will stop getting sore. Beach running alone will hit the calves hard, add in forefoot strike and it's a double-whammy. I would start running again before the DOMS is completely gone but after it peaks. I.E. When it is starting to go away.

Hope this helps.
Old 08-29-2006, 08:30 PM   #3
Sean Harrison

Profile:
I heard that running barefoot in the sand is not as cool as we think it is. I can't remember the article but apparently it's just not good for the plantar fascia muscles in the sole. At least do it in shoes 'they' say.
Hey..it surprised me too.
Old 08-30-2006, 07:55 AM   #4
Christian Hansen

Profile:
Thanks for the responses. I was running on hard sand by the water and I hope it isn't too bad for my plantar fascia muscles (gonna go google that one) as it was outrageously fun. As for the DOMS: good lord, still going strong.
Old 08-30-2006, 08:09 AM   #5
Jerimiah Childress

Profile:
fas·ci·a (făsh'ē-ə)
n., pl. fas·ci·ae (făsh'ē-ē', fā'shē-ē).