CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 12-25-2007, 06:28 PM   #1
Nick Craig

Profile:
Kipping, dips and shoulder problems

I guess I'll post on what has happened just for the record. I suspect there's an area of neglect in crossfit w.r.t. upper body - the plain where you pull towards your chest bringing your shoulders together and down.

Several weeks ago I decided to work exclusively on kipping pullups and dips. My numbers were low, I'm fairly new to CF, wanted to get the warm-up down since it was, after a few months of hard work, really beginning to take flight.

Suffered shoulder pain after three days of kipping and dips (and I was probably pushing very hard, worngly forward in the dips, bouncing a lot on the pullup bar and so on).

The pain went in a day but my left shoulder has now been left with an awful grinding sound. According to the physio the muscle development in my shoulders has gone forward very dispraportionally. My shoulder blades are out of place, too far forward and while i can seperate them impressively, I'm useless at bringing them together.

I'm undergoing a program that the philly baseball players undertake and leaving crossft aside for as long as it takes to get rid of the horrible clicks, props and grinds. I also plan to start rowing every day come the new year.

So a word of warning - if youre new to crossfit and that level of intensity in general, then be very mindful of your shoulders. They're complex structures that I'm having to learn a lot about now. If anyone has had to look into this for a similar reason, then please share some of your more useful pointers.