CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 02-02-2007, 07:36 AM   #1
Rodney McNeely

Profile:
Hello, all!

This is my first time on the CrossFit boards. I just discovered CrossFit yesterday, and I'm wondering how I go about getting started.

Is there a series of "basic" exercises that makes up the CrossFit system? If not, is there a basic set of exercises that I should be proficient with before I attempt to start the WOD?

Also, how well does CrossFit address both core body strength and flexibility?

Thanks in advance for any help, and take care.

Rodney
Old 02-02-2007, 08:48 AM   #2
David Aguasca

Profile:
Rodney,

welcome! glad to see you here.

There's a whole arsenal of exercises we use here, but a lot get used more than others. push-ups, pull-ups, squats, kettlebell swings, rowing, and sprinting are just a few. you may or may not know some of the more exotic ones, so check out the "exercises" page for demos on all those.

i'd read through the FAQ, as well. many of the questions you have will be answered there. start practicing some of the new movements you've been introduced to, like kipping pull-ups for example, which allow us to complete workouts that may have 100 pull-ups in them.

Crossfit definitely does address both core body strength and flexibility...one exercise that comes to mind is the overhead squat, which requires a great deal of lower body and shoulder flexibility, and is one of the KINGS of core exercises.

be sure to take it easy the first few weeks. use this time to really practice movements, get good at them. search for Eugene Allen's account of a friend of his who was struck by rhabdomyolysis on his first crossfit workout.

anyway, i'm sure somebody else will post with whatever i missed.

Old 02-02-2007, 02:43 PM   #3
Kevin Hughes

Profile:
Rodney;