CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 06-08-2011, 05:37 AM   #1
Jack Stafford

Profile:
P90X to CrossFit transition

Hi guys,

Been lurking on CrossFit for a while now.

I've been doing P90X for around 18 months. It has been fantastic and i've seen excellent results and I cannot recommend it enough. However, as much as it improves your body shape and fitness I think it lacks in strength. Dont get me wrong, I am stronger now than I was when I started P90X but I feel as though CrossFit would make me stronger and also fitter, which is what i'm looking for.

I have also, in some ways, gotten used to the workouts of P90X. Even though a lot of workouts still make me suffer, I think i've plateud a bit and need another challenge. I must say that i'm not in anyway bored of P90X, I still love it and will probably come back to it at some point, its just I think i'm in need of a change.

Plus, having completed my first WoD, I must say I haven't felt that exhausted for a while and am hungry for more.

I am concerned though that I am not 'ready' for these BIG moves such as power clean, jerks, etc as you dont do them as part of P90X.

What would you advise? Is it worth integrating something like Strong Lifts 5x5 into my schedule to get used to big lifts? Or is it a case of seriously scaling down each WoD and reasearching proper technique until I get used to the moves?
Old 06-08-2011, 06:53 AM   #2
Dave Traeger

Profile:
Re: P90X to CrossFit transition

I thought p90x was a 90 day plan not an 18 month one?

It'll probably put you in a really good place to try crossfit considering some of us started with no workout experience. It'll still be a big step up I'm guessing, but if you've got the determination / dedication to stick with p90x that long, crossfit may come easy?