CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 07-30-2009, 12:58 PM   #1
Neal Quigley

Profile:
The obligatory "are my goals realistic" post

So I had written up a needlessly-long post when I realized that my question did not require a novel. As a martial artist, I inwardly cringe every time I hear a beginner (inevitably) ask: "how long does it take to get a black belt," and yet I cannot restrain myself from asking a similar crossfit-oriented question.

In a nutshell: Doing only WoDs (4-5 days/week), with 2-3 days of CFE thrown in after a few months, and eating/sleeping right, can one realistically reach the following benchmarks in under two years (the closer to one, the better):

- 25 lb muscle gain (currently 6'4" and a slim, soft, 185. Not looking to go much past 200)
- sub 6 min mile (barely cracking 9 min, atm)
- sub 20 min 5k (comfortably over 30 min, atm)
- Equivalent rowing goals to the listed running goals (don't know what that would entail yet, but I love my C2!)
- intermediate+ level on all lifts for a 200lb man (currently hovering around +/- 10 lbs at the untrained level for everything but squats, which are held back by my absurdly tight hammies)

Ideally, I want all of my goals to be a reach, but attainable. Yes, I have an endurance-bias, but I do want to be reasonably strong. If it matters, I'm 26, I crossfit solo (I have most necessary gear), I am pretty athletic (but deconditioned), and used to be in pretty good (albeit non-crossfit) shape, although I have never lifted heavy.

Any input is welcome, as is any urge to tell me: "relax, the results will come."

Oh, and, after 3 weeks of crossfitting, I am addicted and have no intention of looking back! I only wish I could afford to go to an affiliate...

Last edited by Neal Quigley : 07-30-2009 at 01:01 PM.