CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 03-05-2006, 04:06 PM   #1
Brian Dalrymple

Profile:  
hey there, i've been doing crossfit for about two months and love it. even went to the crossfit denver gym's grand opening even though it's two hours away (from where i am in vail). however while telemark skiing last weekend, i broke my tib/fib bad enough that my leg was facing the other direction when i came to a stop. i had to do the most 'hard' thing in my life and pull my leg back around so it faced front so ski patrol could get me off the mountain. i did have surgery and they put a titanium rod in my tibia for the next 18 months, with some screws to anchor it down on the upper and lower portions of the tibia. luckily there was no damage to the knee or ankle, just the head of the fibula cracked off (doc says needs no surgery since it's a non weight bearing bone, will heal itself) and the middle 4 inches of my tibia looked like a spilt box of toothpicks.

in short, any thing you guys recommend that i do to stay in shape? obviously i can't do the WOD anymore, and any 'cardio' related stuff will be difficult. i'm just at a loss after discovering the best workout plan ever, and now i'm still learning how to walk around on crutches. any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. take care, brian
Old 03-05-2006, 07:14 PM   #2
Tom Brose

Profile:
Man Brian, I hate to hear that. I guess you dodged many bullets not getting hurt playing rugby for so long, but damn. I knew you would get into CrossFit, were really glad to have you on the board, I just wish with better news.

My advice: