CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 01-23-2008, 04:45 PM   #1
Russell Mueller

Profile:
Fractured pelvis -- don't want to lose my progress!

I've been doing crossfit for about 2 months and have drunk deep the kool-aid... Last Friday I was in an ATV accident while riding in the Imperial Sand Dunes and ended up with a minor fracture of the pelvis and some seriously nasty bruising on one leg.

I'm jonesing for the WOD's, but still in pain. I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions for crossfit-style workouts that I can use in the interim. I'm concerned about prolonging my recovery time by stressing the injury.

Many thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
Old 01-23-2008, 05:55 PM   #2
Joe Waguespack

Profile:
Re: Fractured pelvis -- don't want to lose my progress!

I am no expert by any means, but one thing I have noticed about most of the movements in the Crossfit arsenal is that they emphasize the power generated by opening the hips. With an injury like yours I would assume that resting until full recovery would be the best choice. I'm sure some more experience and knowledge will chime in soon.

Good Luck, I know being injured sucks. I just went through a shoulder injury and I received a lot of good advice from this board.
Old 01-23-2008, 06:59 PM   #3
Steven Low

Profile:

Now is a good time to work your upper body strength (and possibly flexibility).

Do not aggravate your injury.
Old 01-23-2008, 07:47 PM   #4
Mary Everett

Profile: