CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 02-11-2014, 09:05 AM   #1
Mark Bayhylle

Profile:
Partner WOD for High School Team

All,

Any input would be great so thanks in advance.

BACKSTORY:
I'm a High School lacrosse coach and we're about 2 weeks out from the start of the season. We've got a great group of seniors that all seem to get along and like each other. However, there is a nearly 50/50 split amongst the group in regard to pre-season training. About half take it seriously and the other half either aren't that engaged or have spent the last three years avoiding the weight room at all costs.

I've started CrossFit in November of 2013 and have made some great progress, but I'm nowhere near qualified to program workouts. What I would like to do is have my players perform a Partner WOD, matching the hard-workers with the less-hard-workers as a team building exercise.

Our weight room is fantastic and has all the things an HS weight room should have. That said, we don't have med balls, any bumper plates lighter than 45#, or kettlebells. As many of these guys have not done CrossFit WOD before, I don't want them to be repping Olympic lifts if possible. We have the space to do pull-ups, but no apparatus for multiple people doing dips at the same time.

We do have plenty of barbells and dumbbells and we have 6 risers as well.

REQUEST:
If anyone would like to chime in with some programming for a Partner WOD that is mostly body-weight exercises but still challenging, I'd really appreciate it.

Again, thanks in advance.

Mark
Old 02-11-2014, 09:12 AM   #2
Jeff Enge

Profile:
Re: Partner WOD for High School Team