CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 11-08-2006, 12:26 PM   #1
Rex Freriks

Profile:
Can anyone help me with guidance on rest periods between sets on the WODs that aren't for time ? Thanks.
Old 11-08-2006, 12:43 PM   #2
James Lewis

Profile:
Newbie here. Take this for what it's worth.

Rest time between sets should be minimal. Example: when I do the CFWU (different muscle groups each exercise) I take zero rest between sets. After one round I usually take about 20 secs.

On WODs that are the same exercise (for example, 5-5-5-5-5 DL) it makes sense to take the least amount of rest that allows maximum exertion while maintaining good form. In other words, once that first set is done, don't take 3 mins between the next set, but hit it again as soon as you have recovered your breath and muscles are sufficiently recovered. If you have to take too long between sets, reduce the load. In my estimation, better to do less weight at higher intensity (ie shorter rest intervals).

My $.02 and that's how I do my workouts. I'm sure a more senior member will chime in.
Old 11-08-2006, 12:46 PM   #3
Mike ODonnell

Profile:
as little as possible if it is Metcon workouts. ME days (where reps are 1-5 per set) rest anywhere from 1-3min.

ME = Max Effort
Metcon = Metabolic Conditioning
Old 11-08-2006, 03:07 PM   #4
Brad Davis

Profile: