CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 04-17-2006, 10:16 AM   #1
Brian Oravetz

Profile:  
I am new to the Crossfit community, obviously! And thus far, I have really enjoyed the way things are done, and the results that I have seen based on my own experiments.

A little about me. I'm a BJJ guy, and one who's ever only had one coach. Master Ricardo Murgel (7th Deg BB CBJJ). We are in the process of growing our team here in the states to match the size that we've grown it internationally.

Professor Murgel is also my business partner, and that is what brought me to the Crossfit world. It is my responsibility to find a conditioning system that can be replicated and used across our entire team.

So it is my goal to come here, read, read, read and read some more! Did I mention read? :D

I am also interested in Affiliation and Certification if the results I've seen thus far are any indication.

We are also an MMA team with a few serious contendors here and abroad. But we do not have a specialized striking program. I'd also be interested in more info, and learning about the CrossPit program as well.

I'll look forward to seeing you all around!
Regards,
Old 04-17-2006, 11:00 AM   #2
Nick Cummings

Profile:

Sounds like you are at the right place. I recommend you check out crossfitlive.com and the FAQ posted by Lynne Pitts that includes several documents by Eugene Allen that must be read. Also "What is Fitness" is a must read.
Old 04-17-2006, 04:12 PM   #3
John Messano

Profile:
Hi Brian,

The best and quickest way to learn is to DO. Consider doing the CF warm-up and the CF WOD, scaled to your ability, if necessary. You'll quickly discover the gaps in your training and knowledge just by doing the WOD.