CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-30-2009, 06:19 PM   #1
Nick Hoffman

Profile:
Starting Starting Strength

I've been CFing for 2 months now and I <3 it; but I think doing a bout of SS would be good for me.

Two questions:

1.) For CFers they recommended adding in 1-2 metcons after a month of SS vanilla. My question is where to put them? I was thinking maybe mon. ss/metcon, wed. ss, fri. ss/metcon.

2.) Nutrition (Zone). I'm pretty new to actually following an eating program and have been living off of microwave dinners most of my life (both sad and bad). From reading/ seeing other people's results, the zone looks like a good place to start.

I'm 19, 5'8" and 155lbs. I'm not really looking to bulk or gain weight, just increase strength. Does 19 blocks sound like a good starting point? How do I know if I need to up it and by how much?

According to the SS wiki, they recommend eating every 2 hours. Has anyone tried splitting up the meal blocks up to cover more time throughout the day? Such as shorten breakfast to 3 blocks, adding a snack of 2 blocks, lunch of 4 blocks, next snack 3 etc.

Thanks for tolerating my newbiness.
Old 07-30-2009, 06:45 PM   #2
Lawrence "Bo" Boland III

Profile:
Re: Starting Starting Strength

Nick, great job trying to get your diet in order. Though, many people on here will tell you that it is more important to start eating the right TYPES of food before going on Zone (which is more of a portioning program). A lot of people on these boards would also recommend looking into the Paleo diet (as would I).

Start with eating the right kind of foods. Then portion it out with the zone.
Old 07-30-2009, 07:06 PM   #3
Jagtar Mukhtar

Profile: