CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 04-09-2012, 01:54 PM   #1
Ruben Nunez

Profile:
3 weeks in - Addicted to crossfit! Questions about rest, weightloss, & benchmarks

Hello Everyone! I'm a newbie to crossfit and this is my first post. I just completed 3 weeks of 4 WODs a week at my local box and loving it!

Here's where I'm at right now...
5' 7", 30 yrs old, 193 lbs, sedentary lifestyle until recently joining a box.
I've been on paleo/primal diet for the last 8 months, where I lost 35lbs!

I was very athletic in high school, and only about 145 lbs, but since going to college and getting married gained about 85 lbs.

I lost 35 lbs of that on paleo, so I figure I have another 50 lbs more to go. I'm not that concerned so much about scale weight, but really want to get stronger and decrease substantially my BF%. I have a digital fat analyzer scale that's giving me a reading of 30%, and I want to get it to around 10%. A figure I was around 15% in high school without working too hard or caring about my diet, so I should be able to get it much lower as a dedicated crossfitter and my clean diet which I have nailed to a t.

So here are my questions based on all this:

1. Is there a recommended crossfit benchmark system to measure my gains on a regular basis, so I can see how much I've improved? I saw this pdf on the crossfit seattle's site that looks promising, but I don't know if there is an official one for crossfit.
http://crossfitseattle.com/wordpress...els-poster.pdf (WFS)

2. I'm currently going to my box 4 days on, 3 days off. What do you guys think? Is 4 days in a row too much, especially me as a newbie? Maybe 2 days on, 1 day off, 2 days on, 2 days off?