CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 09-01-2005, 08:31 AM   #1
Neal Winkler

Profile:
Hello,

I'm new to crossfit and I was wondering why crossfit emphasizes the Zone diet over a standard government "food pyramid" diet.

What do the Zone dieters here believe are the advantages of the Zone diet over a standard government "food pyramid" diet?

Thanks
Old 09-01-2005, 08:46 AM   #2
Charlie Reid

Profile:
the food pyramid's foundation is based primarily around grains (breads/pastas). A lot of these grains, breads, and pastas carry a heavy glycemic load which leads to more hunger and obesity. The zone diet keeps insulin in check while emphasizing lean proteins, vegetables, fruits, nuts and seeds. This is just one of the advantages of a zone favorable diet, but i'm sure you'll get an earful from the folks here on the board. I highly recommend reading Dr. Sears book if you haven't already. I also recommend reading Dr. Loren Cordain's "Paleo Diet", which a lot of people follow here as well. A great deal of crossfitters do a hybrid paleo/zone diet.
Old 09-01-2005, 04:07 PM   #3
Neal Winkler

Profile:
If that is indeed the case, then why does the government push such a diet based upon Zone diet recommendations? Also, why don't textbooks? The textbooks are not government controlled.

I had nutrition 2 semesters ago, and the textbook in line with the government recommended 60% carbs, 25%-30% fat, and 10% protien.

The government just restructured the food pyramid, and according to my nutrition teacher whom I ran into today, the recommendations are still the same. You would think that if there was any legitimacy to the claims of the Zone diet that this recent restructuring would of been good opportunity to change the guidlines.