CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 08-11-2010, 12:15 PM   #1
Jennifer Lopez

Profile:
Smile Affiliation

I have submitted my application for affiliation and want more than anything to open my gym by the end of next month. I have enough equipment to start but am a little nervous on how to approach new people coming in and firing questions at me. I have little teaching experience (only w/ friends) so sometimes I find myself getting tripped up on my words. I don't want to seem like I don't know what I am doing. I am willing to try anything and everything to make this work. Does anyone have advice? Is any of this covered in the Biz materials? Where can I get information on programming? Thanks!
Old 08-11-2010, 12:49 PM   #2
Aushion Chatman

Profile:
Re: Affiliation

If you've only trained a few friends is that all the training you've ever done...you may want to slow down on opening up in a month...Lots of things to consider first.

For programming, the Crossfit Journal is a good place to start, especially the older "newsletter" issues...$25/yr...well worth it for any affiliate, it should really be mandatory if it isn't already. There are many other resources to get involved in but it sounds like you need to start there.

Get more practice training friends/clients, most of your training eye and cues come with experience you just need more sounds like but you can consider:

1) Slow down, teach at your own pace, it is your gym...