CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 01-29-2008, 07:43 PM   #1
Tyson Lo

Profile:
Cross Fit Total/ Incorporating more

Hi all,

I'm new to CF and I have some Q's.

For a work out like "CrossFit Total"

Back squat, 1 rep
Shoulder Press, 1 rep
Deadlift, 1 rep

What should I do for warm up? Do these 1 reps show max out strength?

Also, on days like this, can I incorporate more? Could I add some more squats or a bench press or preacher curls? When could I do these things? I find myself wanting to do more, since I historically spend like 2 hours in the gym 2-3 days a week.

I have slacked off last semester as I was busy and I was lifting weights off an on (maybe 1-2 days a week - used to be 3-4 days/week) and I've been doing CrossFit consitantly with some subs for 3 weeks (scaling down 25-35%) and liking the high-intensity, short work outs. I think this is the key to the reason that I can work out 5 days a week, b/c I am a busy ivy league student.

I am in decent shape, 6'1", 220lb and on the chubby side (its college and I drink beer), but decently athletic. I have run/ walked 10 miles and can do 6 no problem, or play basketball for 2-3 hours. I can leg press 400lbs+ or squat 225 6 times, bench 185lbs 6+x or 135lbs 15+x. I almost never max out. In the past I have

My goals are to get cut, be more athletic, but I must admit I'd like a little bit more excess muscle for asthetic reasons (im already a pretty big guy.) I would like to acheive my goals quicker which is why I want to do more? What does everyone think about incorporating a starting strength or black box, since I'm not that strong and I want to get bigger.

Also, when can I incorporate a couple hours of basketball or a long run or a high energy martial arts class?