CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 08-16-2004, 05:08 AM   #1
Chris Williams

Profile:
What I really want to know is: are there exercises I should be doing in order to really build up the knee, especially the stabilizing muscles to help hold the knee in place during a hard landing (my injuries come from falling off mountain bikes). I was thinking box jumps, that sort of thing, as well as the more usual squats.

Also, any exercises to avoid...sprinting/ stair climbing etc?

I'm a newbie and v. excited about Crossfit training, but worried about my knee because I had ACL surgery 18 months ago (that went v. well), and 2 months ago stretched the interior ligament and lightly torn the meniscus. The knee is getting better now, and I'm able to cycle and do air squats, but I want to prevent this injury from recurring (and giving up mountain biking isn't an option!)

Thanks in advance for the feedback
Old 08-17-2004, 12:49 PM   #2
Rick Worthington

Profile:

I've had 2 ACL reconstructions on my right knee and one on my left along with numerous scopes on both to remove bits of my meniscus. By 18 months post-op I was a full go for all activities - including wrestling which cost me all those ACLs in the first place.
I've found that since following CF for the past year, my knees feel better and better each week. I still need a pretty decent warm up for any WOD that involves running.
Keep the weight light until you master the form and don't shy away from exercises like overhead squats which I think have contributed to my knee recovery. I think biking is actually one of the best exercises for ACL rehab - although moutain biking poses a slightly different threat.