CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 10-02-2010, 09:30 AM   #1
Guy Erez

Profile:
New to CF need combat-endurance emphasis

Hey guys,

Currently am 16 years old, about 6-6'1 ft tall, weighing at about 195-200 pounds, I did some weightlifting, but with no serious diet etc but for a fair while, so I'm not a complete beginner, yet I had no endurance or general sport involvement so at least on the endurance side, I pretty much suck.

I will be going to the army in about 2 years, I'm aiming high so I need to get to some real good shape, mostly on the endurance side, combat style, a lot of running walking.. mainly endurance, but some strength-power is important.. thats why I want to try CF since it seems to involve the best of all worlds.

Now, for the target I mentioned, would the WOD be enough? or should I go on something a little different?

I would be glad for some help.

I want to also mention I'm going to the gym, though squatting is out of the option, we neither have a stand/rack nor a safety cage.. and we don't have kettlebells, yet I can manage to deadlift, bench press, overhead press, pull-ups etc.

Thanks in advance guys.
Old 10-02-2010, 09:35 AM   #2
Carl Amolat

Profile:
Re: New to CF need combat-endurance emphasis

Welcome my friend. Or Shalom.

For military specific fitness tips I recommend looking at MilitaryAthlete.com (w/f/s) and CrossFit Endurance (w/f/s).. Both sites have some very solid advice and the CFE program has both strength/condtioning and a unique approach to endurance training that could be helpful.
Old 10-02-2010, 10:47 AM   #3
Eric Montgomery

Profile:

WOD + maybe a little extra strength work + get used to hiking with a pack and flak jacket.